Civvie Health Care

Paleo is healthy. Life is only nasty, brutish, and short if one makes it nasty, brutish, and short by doing stupid things. The way our hunter-gatherer ancestors lived was in fact an extremely healthy way to live. Sure, you could be eaten by a bear, but that was the exception rather than the rule. Nowadays anyone hanging out with a bear deserves to get eaten on principle – back then they might not have because they knew how to handle themselves.

Anyway, Since I had my heart attack 20 days ago, I’ve been thinking pretty hard about a couple of things. Namely, what would happen to me if I suddenly stopped taking my meds? Would my heart seize up again? Would my new, stress-reduced life relieve some of the pressure on my poor little ticker enough that it could heal up a little before I actually got to the age when we begin to expect these crazy little mishaps? Would my new, 100% organic and 100% wild diet reduce my naughty cholesterol and up my happy cholesterol to the point where my arteries actually began to clean themselves out again? Would I grow strong again like I was when I was 19?

I don’t know. I don’t think anyone really knows. I’m putting a link up to the paleo diet site on the right just in case, though.

But that’s not really the point of this post. The point is really this:

Does my heart attack preclude me from living a healthier lifestyle, given the fact that medication binds me to civ, which is the cause of the problem in the first place. I smoked for more than 20 years, but I quit a while ago. It sucked, and I still want to smoke more,  but I still quit. It still sucks. I ate processed foods because that’s what was available. It’s still what’s available, since there’s no way in hell I can afford health-food-store grocery prices. I would have to eat like I didn’t like food and that’s not going to happen. I’m stressed to hell and back because of another civ-created monstrosity, that being money.

I’m with Derrick Jensen on this: there are no poor people and there are no rich people. There are only those who have the cash and those who don’t. Pity that the only reason such a high percentage of people enter the medical field is because of the disproportionately large paychecks, rather than the genuine desire to heal.

About gblogswild

I'm learning a few new things from a few new people, whether they know it or not. View all posts by gblogswild

Leave a Reply

